Episcopalians: Be welcoming to everyone

From a post I shared on a few forums today.  The infighting has been heavy on my heart recently.

Good morning,
Let’s take a moment to be welcoming to everyone. As Robin Williams once stated one of our greatest strengths is that, “whatever you believe, there is at least one other Episcopalian who agrees.”

On several forums recently there has been a lot of statements of belief. However rather than welcoming and embracing discussion with the humility that no matter our personal perspective only J.C. Himself has the ultimate say, I’ve been seeing derision and devisiveness. That my friends is completely off mission.

So dear ones, I am asking that each of us prayerfully consider each word we utter or type. I understand passionate beliefs, I have my own, but His Passion is the reason we are all here, not our passions. As the psalm says:
May the words of my mouth and the thoughts of my heart be pleasing and acceptable in your sight, Oh Lord, my strength and my redeemer.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

