I’ve got the Joy Joy Joy Joy

Had a really good discussion at adult sunday school, talking about what we as a church have to offer.

The jist of the day was “what is it that is different about us because we are Episcopalians and Christians?” In other words, why would anyone ever look at us and think, gee that looks interesting?

I’m not sure that we found all of the answers, but we hit upon a theme.  What we get from being here is joy, cheer, happiness, a sense of being home.  We, at least the handful of us in this class, are genuinely having a good time being members of a corporate body of Christ.  We can have a formal, liturgical service and not feel that its a chore or a burden.  It’s a happiness.  And when we leave we take those extra hugs, those handshakes, those prayers for each other’s well being and the internalized Jesus out into the world with us in our hearts.

My youngest was riding home in the car with me, a bit tired from the busy weekend when I started singing

I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart

Where?

Down in my heart!

Where?

Down in my heart!

I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart

Down in my heart to stay

I pretty sure he thought I was nuts, but eventually even his surly frown found the song infectious and together we’ve had smiles on our faces all day since.

C’mon sing it with me – You know you want to

Leave a Reply

